Lamb Curry with Raw Mango & Raw Papaya

Last night my sister in law called me asking for a Lamb & Mango recipe. She told me that I missed making it for her in my last visit to her and now, she wanted to try it herself ! sweet !

I had a tough time telling the quantities of seasonings to her and she called me back disheartened saying it didn’t turn out that well !

So now, I made this for you dear sis-in-law and I hope this is illustrative enough 🙂

Ingredients :

500 gms of tender lamb meat

1-2 tsps of red paprika or chilli powder

1 tsp Daniya powder

1 tsp Meat Masala (you can use a packaged one or make it yourself at home)

1/2 tsp Black pepper

3-5 roughly chopped chunks of raw papaya

1 medium sized raw mango chopped

4 tsps of oil

2 small onions sliced long and thin

2 small onions cut into 4 chunks

1 tsp ginger garlic paste

Jeera

Oil

Salt

Coriander

Curry leaves

Preparation :

1. In a pressure cooker, add cleaned lamb pieces, 1 tsp of chilli powder, salt, pepper, meat masala, turmeric, 2 tsps oil, onion chunks, raw papaya(slightly yellow one is what I could pick from my garden. You can use the completely raw green ones too) chunks and drizzle some water over and mix well. Do not add lots of water coz the meat has to cook in its own juices for a better taste. Pressure cook it for about 5-7 whistles. The below picture might give you an idea about how much chilli powder, pepper, salt I added.

20130312_111550

20130312_112146

2. I added the other ingredients to the above and pressure cooked it for 5 whistles. This is how it looked like with the raw papaya and lamb. Please do not add raw mango at this stage because it will prevent the lamb from cooking.

20130312_115931

3. In a pan, heat about 2 tsps of oil, add jeera, sliced onions, daniya powder, ginger garlic paste, raw mango chunks and fry a little. Add some water and cook the mango. Add some chilli powder and salt if needed.

20130312_112028

 

20130312_121808

4. So to the cooked raw mango, add the pressure cooked lamb and papaya. Add some masala powder for improving the smell and flavor. Check the seasonings & Garnish with coriander and serve !

20130312_122118

Enjoy !!!

PS- I got so engrossed in cooking that I missed taking a few pics :/ In case of any questions, please comment 🙂

Leave a Reply

