Steamed Asian Style Fish

It has been a long time since I blogged some recipes and here is one recipe I just made and had for my dinner.

The first time I tasted it was when I went to Malaysia. I could not really reproduce the same steamed fish but with whatever quality of ingredients I got here in India, I must say it tasted a little different and much nicer !!

So here was my easy, approx.200 cal 8th meal of the day ! lol

Ingredients :

4 fillets of fish cubed

4 tsps light soy sauce

1 tsp maple syrup or pancake syrup or honey

1 tsp sugar

3 red chillies finely chopped

1 tsp garlic chopped

1/2 tsp ginger chopped

2 tsp of water

1/4 tsp ginger garlic paste

1/4th onion cut length wise or julienne’d

A few curry leaves (home-grown;)) ( I wanted to add an Indian touch. The dish I had in Malaysia had parsley and cilantro)

Pepper (Optional) – I didn’t add though

Olive oil / Sesame oil (optional)

Preparation :

I must say, this is fairly easy to prepare and feels healthy too. It only took me 15 mins to have some tasty perfectly cooked steamed fish.

1. Take an aluminum foil dish or even plain aluminium wrapper. Add chopped red chillies, light soy sauce, maple syrup, sugar, ginger garlic paste, curry leaves, water. Mix it thoroughly such that the sugar dissolves. You can also use brown sugar.

2. Add the filleted fish cubes into this soy mixture. It should look like this –

2013-02-12 19.36.593. Once the fish was well coasted in the marinade, I wrapped with a aluminum foil. Make sure you leave some space while wrapping to let the steam out while you steam it.
2013-02-12 19.39.26

4. Get your steamer on or you can also try steaming in a wok with enough water for steaming. Wait for the water to boil. As soon as it boils, place your aluminium foil wrapped fish inside the wok, propped up with a small inverted bowl or a couple of wooden blocks (meant for steaming). Cover your wok tightly and set your alarm or 10 minutes.

5. I have used a double boiler to steam and this is how it went !

2013-02-12 19.45.07

2013-02-12 19.45.13

2013-02-12 20.26.18

6. The above is how the fish looks after 10 minutes of steaming ! You can eat it as it is or may be try a little more like I did if you don’t like the smell or boiled taste

7. In a pan, put a tsp of olive oil or sesame oil, swirl it till very hot. Add the chopped garlic,ginger,onions,curry leaves and saute till brown.

8. Pour in the fish with the sauce and cook it for a minute or so. The sugar and maple syrup we added in the marinate will give a nice brown caramelized taste.

2013-02-12 20.27.43

2013-02-12 20.30.52

9. If not on diet, enjoy with some sticky white rice or steamed white rice ! I can’t get enough of soy fish and sticky rice !! 🙂

2013-02-12 20.33.14

Tip ~ Try adding some roasted peanuts, bok choy and sesame oil for a thai twist 😉

Comments
2 Responses to “Steamed Asian Style Fish”
  1. veeenajan says:

    wow..Steamed fish looks yummy..will going to try this soon ..Will post in my blog by linking u if u dont mind .. 🙂 expecting more delicious recipes from u …

    • Sure please share 🙂 I do have many recipes and pictures clicked in my mobile 🙂 will surely grab time and post more. I’m glad you liked it ! Do keep dropping in veena !! You have a great blog too 🙂

Leave a Reply

